Tuesday June 11, 20.00 

Sala Unicaja de Concierto María Cristina


E. Grieg: String quartet no.1 in G minor, Op.27

Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin / Jesús Reina violin / Eleanor Kendra James viola / Gabriel Ureña cello       

R. Schumann / J. Brahms: Intermezzo and scherzo from the F-A-E sonata, for violin and piano

Koh Gabriel Kameda violin / Kiril Keduk piano

F. Cilea: ‘E la solita storia del pastore’ (Lamento di Federico),
               from the opera L’arlesiana, for tenor and piano
G. Puccini: ‘E lucevan le stelle’, from the opera Tosca, for tenor and piano

Nils Georg Nilsen tenor / Sergio Montero piano


L. van Beethoven: Grosse fugue in Bb major, Op.133, for string quartet

Jesús Reina violin / Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin / Eleanor Kendra James viola /
Gabriel Ureña cello

The festival opens with the grand unison of the Quartet in g minor by Grieg. The Norwegian composer manages to recreate an orchestral sonority, giving the impression that the quartet formation expands in a piece which evokes nordic nature. Schumann and Brahms are meat and bone in this work in which the composers collaborated. It expresses the most sincere intimacy of the artist in the Intermezzo and, in the Scherzo, a defying gesture towards destiny from the artist. The aria by Cilea, in crescendo, of the second act of L’Arlesiana, tells us of a deep and impossible love between Federico, its main character, and the girl of Arles, which gives the title to the opera. Another love story takes the scene, this time depicting the painter Cavaradossi, who is in love with Tosca, and expresses his pain from the Castle Sant’Angelo where he awaits his execution. Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge finishes the program. It is a vast work which consists of a double fugue. It was criticized in its premier as “incomprehensible” and described, in the words of Stravinsky, as a work which “will remain contemporary forever”.


Ramos Marín s/n. 29012 Málaga

Ticket office hours:
Monday - Friday (work days):
11.00 - 15.00 and 18.00 - 21.30.
Saturday (work days): ​16.00 -20.30.
Sundays and holidays, open an hour before the start of an event.



Price per concert:

20 euros - Teatro Cervantes   

10 euros - Cine Albeniz          
10 euros - Sala Unicaja de Conciertos María Cristina

15% discount applied for buying tickets for all the five concerts.


Marqués de Valdecañas 2. 29008 Málaga

Ticket office hours:
Same day as concerts, from 1 hour before the start of concerts.


Alcazabilla 4. 29015 Málaga

Ticket office hours:
From mondays to sundays, 16.30 - 22.00

Copyright © Málaga Clásica, 2020.